World Cup 2010 Spreadsheet

Hello there! I have been squirrelling away for a while now trying to find a decent wall chart or something with which to plan my World Cup experience and to ascertain just how little sleep I will be getting during June and early July. Unfortunately, because I live in New Zealand and all the decent ones I’ve found have the match dates and kick-off times in either local or UTC+1 time, I’ve had to do it myself!

The good news though, is that I’m a kind and sharing person, and so will post it here so that you can all download it and use it too. All you have to do is pop the scores in as each game is played and the group stage tables and subsequent knockout fixtures will automatically update themselves, which means it also works as a handy predictor (England defeated Spain 8-0 in a classic final during my latest run through).

If you aren’t in New Zealand, it will be easy enough (if slightly time-consuming) to convert the dates/times to your own.

Click here to download the They Think It’s All Over… World Cup 2010 Spreadsheet…

Update: some readers have had problems with the spreadseet calculating goal difference incorrectly. I’m not sure why this is – it might be because it was built in Excel 07 but I saved it in the compatibility format to make it more accessible, it might be a result of altering the dates, or it might be because I stuffed up the formulas when editing it – either way, I’ve prepared a stripped back version in the .xlsx (Excel ’07) format that you can try if you have trouble. The dates are in local times though – do let me know if there are any problems with it.

Click here to download the hopefully fixed TTIAO Spread sheet…

17 Responses to World Cup 2010 Spreadsheet

  1. Lizzy says:

    Thanks ad, you’re the best! πŸ™‚

  2. Sam says:

    Cheers Ads.

  3. sambansal says:

    Salim Sulaiman in FIFA world cup 2010

    First time in FIFA history Indian Music composer duo , SALIM and SULAIMAN merchant have been invited by the organising committee to compose the anthem for the upcoming mega event to be held in South Africa between June 11 and July 11.Find Out more Updates on>>FIFA World Cup 2010

  4. Mark says:

    Great spreadsheet – thanks for sharing it.

    Slight snag with the recording of some of the goal differences – if you put in scores of 1-1 for every game, the league tables don’t record them properly. I think the formulas are missing in columns AS to AZ.

    Thanks again

  5. Trev says:

    Hi there! Spreadsheet is excellent. I took the trouble to change all the times to UK lol. Just one snag…the goal difference for the Germany game (4-0 vs Australia), doesn’t show up in the table. Can you let me know ho to fix this please?

    Cheers πŸ™‚
    Trev

  6. A. Howard says:

    Mark and Trev, thanks for letting me know about this.

    I had help putting the Spreadsheet together, and unfortunately my Excel expertise doesn’t run to fixing it! I fear some of the formulas may have been corrupted as I was editing it a little – I will try and get a stripped back version up here ASAP.

    Apologies for the slow response, I had an exam yesterday.

    Thanks,
    Adam.

    ***EDIT***
    The updated version has now been posted above – I hope that helps.

  7. Mark says:

    That was quick … many thanks Adam.
    I appreciate that it’s a lot work.

  8. Trev says:

    I can’t open it Adam…I don’t have Excel 07 😦
    Thanks for you efforts though, much appreciated.

    Trev

  9. Mark says:

    Trev – what version of Excel do you have?

  10. Trev says:

    I have MS Office Excel 2003 mate.

  11. Mark says:

    Trev,
    You can download a free converter from Microsoft so you can open any files created with Excel 2007 from http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/downloads/ha010449811033.aspx

    I have saved Adam’s World Cup spreadsheet in an earlier version & lodged it in my webspace. You can get it by copying and pasting the following link in you browser’s address bar;
    http://www.rsandthefaces.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/World Cup 2010 Spreadsheet (Fixed + UK Dates) 2003.xls

    Adam – hope you don’t mind. There is no link to your sheet on my site; I’ve just uploaded the sheet so Trev can download it & I’ll delete it then.

    All the best.

  12. Mark says:

    ps: I’ve changed the link to make it easier – just click on http://www.rsandthefaces.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Excel2003sheet.xls

  13. Trev says:

    Thanks Mark, I have it downloaded and up and running πŸ™‚

    Adam – all is good now. Many thanks. Now I can enjoy the rest of the World cup…apart from the shambles tonight obviously 😦

    Regards
    Trev

  14. Ian Hindley C-C - Seasiders says:

    hi from australia
    thanks heaps for the spreadsheet and fixing it up
    i am running a sweepstakes at our hospital
    and it has made it a great way for me to email the group as to how everyone is going
    i added the peoples names in next to the team they drew for extra spice
    thanks again

  15. Xbox Article Center…

    […]World Cup 2010 Spreadsheet « They Think It's All Over…[…]…

  16. cracked software…

    […]World Cup 2010 Spreadsheet « They Think It's All Over…[…]…

  17. Lorena says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you
    know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure
    why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

Leave a Reply

