Guest Blog: Everton vs. Liverpool: A rivalry explained.

guest-blog-topper

Today I have written my second guest blog for Soccer Fan Base.

After the FA Cup 5th Round Draw meant that Everton will face Liverpool at Anfield twice in a week next week, I decided to try and relate the nature of the club’s rivalry to neutral fans. As these things often do, it has a base in societal differences between the clubs as well as certain events that have shaped the history of both clubs.

Written from an Evertonian viewpoint it will of course be slightly biased in it’s description of the rivalry between the clubs, but I have tried to be unbiased and fair in my accounts of the events that sparked such a hate-filled rivalry.

Hopefully it provides an insight into fandom for neutrals, I believe that the behaviour of fans is one of the most interesting aspects of our game and I think football is unique in the response it creates in those who truly follow it. Surely only in football, would you get a rivalry such as this.

I hope you enjoy reading it, click the banner above to read it. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

